Chair's Welcome


On behalf of the Department of Social Work, welcome! Students entering the Master of Social Work (MSW) program in UTSA’s College for Health, Community and Policy are joining a dedicated community of social work professionals and supporters transforming lives in San Antonio and across the country.

Our accredited program is committed to culturally competent transformative social work. Our students, alumni, faculty, staff, and community supporters are what make our social work community unique. Their commitment to the profession of social work and their collaborative spirits are making a difference in the San Antonio area and beyond. Our innovative, holistic curriculum prepares students to meet the challenges of the 21st century. The curriculum spans the micro-macro continuum and provides comprehensive knowledge and skills for intervention at multiple service levels. We invite students to dive in and fully engage in all this program offers.

It’s an honor to serve as chair of the department, working with our program mission in the forefront of my mind: to serve as catalysts for transformative culturally competent social work through research, education, and service within a local-global context. I can’t think of any work I would rather be doing, given critical issues individuals, families, and communities confront on a daily basis. Social workers seek to advance values of integrity, service, competence, social justice, human relationships, and the dignity and worth of each person. We are fortunate that our MSW program is embedded in the UTSA context, with the university endorsing core values of dialogue, discovery, integrity, excellence, inclusiveness, respect, collaboration, and innovation. Learning and transformation often involve challenge. These values guide faculty, staff, and students as we learn and act together. We welcome your interest in this special community.

Amy Chanmugam, Ph.D.


Amy Chanmugam, Ph.D., LCSW

Department Chair, Associate Professor

Social Work
Student on a laptop in a classroom

Program Assessment

Please click here to download the Assessment of Student Learning Outcomes for 2020-21.


The UTSA Department of Social Work was founded by Dr. Dennis Haynes. It has grown significantly since its inaugural cohort of 17 students entered in January 2005. Initially, the program focused on meeting the needs of working professionals interested in attending school part-time, and all classes were offered in the evening. The program was fully accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) in 2008, with reaffirmation in 2012 and 2021, making it a CSWE accredited program through 2028. Graduates work in professional positions serving diverse individuals, families, groups, organizations, and communities. They demonstrate commitment to social responsibility, cultural competence, and community collaboration within an inter-professional and global context.

The program has grown rapidly, with a current enrollment of over 200 students, and increased numbers of full-time students. A small number of day classes are now offered. This website introduces our faculty and their areas of research expertise, as well as our staff, including members of the Department of Field Education. Through the Title IV-E (SWEPT) program, we have also been able to offer the program to cohorts in Corpus Christi. The UTSA social work student body is diverse, with both non-traditional and traditional students representing a range of ages, ethnic groups, work and educational experiences, ideas, and interests. We strive to create a community of learners, incorporating a transformative education paradigm throughout all course work. Emphasis is placed on facilitating the transformation of students’ perspectives, so they in turn can facilitate the transformation of individuals, families, groups, organizations, and communities.

Have an inquiry about our program?

We appreciate your interest in the Department of Social Work and extend our warmest welcome to you from the Department.