Posted on May 1, 2019 by Michelle Skidmore

Congratulations to all the students, faculty and alumni recognized for their outstanding achievements over the 2018-2019 academic year:


COPP Most Outstanding Student – Graduate Student & Department of Social Work Outstanding Student of Year: Byanka Ramos , MSW

COPP Most Outstanding Student – Undergraduate Student: Stephanie Barrera , CRJ

2018-19 Student Research Paper Competition Doctoral Winner: Colton Daniels , DEM

2018-19 Student Research Paper Competition Masters Winner: Bailey Saldana , MSCJC

2018-19 Student Research Paper Competition Undergraduate Winner: John Hamilton , CRJ

2019 Undergraduate Research Showcase: Best in College: Sara Morsi , BPA

2019 Undergraduate Research Showcase: Best Civic Engagement Project: Derek Sandoval , CRJ

National Association of Social Workers, Alamo Chapter: Social Work Student of the Year: Caitlin Caswell , MSW

Summer 2019 Graduate Archer Fellow: Bethany Gutierrez , MSW

Department of Social Work’s Generalist Student of the Year: Norma Almazan , MSW

Student Government Association’s University Life Awards’ Outstanding Graduate Student: Victoria Castellanos , MSW

American Association of Hispanics in Higher Education Graduate Fellow: Stephanie Hernandez, DEM

Population Association of America Poster Award Winner for Poster Session #10 Fertility, Family Planning, Sexual Behavior & Reproductive Health 2: Kahli Romano , DEM

Student Paper award winner for Second Biennial Population and Public Policy Conference and finalist in 3MT Competition: Jeongsoo Kim , DEM

Student Government Association’s University Life Awards’ Outstanding Graduate Student Nominee: Gina Hill , MSW

Pathway to Health Professions Student: Raudel Guerra

COSA Management Fellows Program: Stephanie Flores , MPA

UT System Center for Enhancing Philanthropy Summer Internship Program: Michael Stadelmaier , MPA


President’s Distinguished Award for Research Achievement: Kellie Lynch, Ph.D.

Sawtelle Financial Teaching Innovation Grant Award Recipient: Gina Amatangelo

San Antonio Women’s Hall of Fame 2019 Inductee: Francine Romero, Ph.D.

Elected President of the Southern Demographic Association: Johnelle Sparks, Ph.D.

Appointed Member to the Council on Global Social Issues: Bonita Sharma, Ph.D.

Editor of Population Research and Policy Review: Corey Sparks, Ph.D.


Order of the Roadrunner Recipient: Lorenzo Sanchez, Ph.D. ’03 & ’18

Charles Benton Digital Equity Champion Award: Munirih Jester ’16

San Antonio Business Journal’s 40 Under 40 Woman of the Year: Meghan Garza-Oswald ’10

National Association of Social Workers Social Worker of the Year: Kimberly Goodwin ’12

— Michelle Skidmore