Posted on April 16, 2019 by Michelle Skidmore

The University Excellence Awards recognizes faculty and staff who have made significant contributions to the University.

This year, winners from the College of Public Policy include the following individuals:

Kellie Lynch Directory Photo Dr. Kellie Lynch, Assistant Professor in the Department of Criminal Justice
President’s Distinguished Award for Research Achievement
The Research Achievement Award recognizes and rewards those non-tenure and tenured/tenure-track faculty who have conducted a sustained program of high-quality, high-impact research that has translated into national and international recognition.
Dr. Lynch earned her Ph.D. in Experimental Social Psychology from the University of Kentucky. During her time at UTSA, she has published 18-peer-reviewed journal articles and nine “impact” articles within her primary discipline since joining the faculty. She is currently co-investigator on Assistant Professor Megan Augustyn’s funded project in which they are conducting a campus wide survey focusing on cyber and in-person victimization. Her research interests include intimate partner violence and homicide, domestic violence, sexual victimization, stalking and campus safety and perceptions of risk. In 2017, she was awarded the Grant for Research Advancement and Transformation (GREAT) for her research project Threat Appraisal and Help Seeking in High-Risk Intimate Partner Violence Victims: The Application of Protection Motivation Theory ($20,000)

Dr. Lorenzo Sanchez Dr. Lorenzo Sanchez ’03, ’18, Alumnus of the Applied Demography program and Director of Business Continuity and Emergency Management, UTSA Police Department
Order of the Roadrunner Award
The Order of the Roadrunner Award goes to an individual who demonstrates exemplary service and commitment to UTSA. This individuals enhances the quality of work life in ways that significantly increases productivity for colleagues or customers to include creating innovative solutions and providing ongoing excellence to faculty, staff, and students. It is the highest honor a UTSA staff member can receive for his or her dedication to the UTSA community.
Dr. Sanchez implements collaborative tools and programs to keep higher education community prepared for emergencies and identifies critical and key resources to allow UTSA faculty, staff and students to recover from disasters affecting the campuses.

Dr. Lynch and Dr. Sanchez will be recognized at the University Excellence Awards Ceremony, April 18 at 2 p.m. in the H-E-B Student Union Ballroom (HSU 1.104). The Ceremony will be broadcast live to the Meeting Assembly Room (BV 1.338) in the Buena Vista St. Bldg., at the Downtown Campus.

Read the list of all the award winners .


— Michelle Skidmore