Posted on June 15, 2021 by Amanda Cerreto

June 16, 2021 — The American Sociological Association (ASA) proudly announces the 2021 award recipients, the highest honors the association confers.

Rogelio Saenz Awardees, selected by committees directly appointed by the ASA Council, will be honored on August 8 as part of the ASA Virtual Annual Meeting. A formal address by ASA President Aldon Morris will follow the ceremony.

Rogelio Sáenz has earned the Cox-Johnson-Frazier Award. This award is given to an individual for their work in the intellectual traditions of Oliver Cox, Charles S. Johnson, and E. Franklin Frazier, three African American scholars. Cox, Johnson, and Frazier placed their scholarship in service to social justice, with an eye toward advancing the status of disadvantaged populations. Their scholarship was not limited to just the gathering of more data, but was rather scholarship that was attempting to better conditions globally. Cox, Johnson, and Frazier worked to broaden the thinking of society and to broaden what the mainstream included.

In the spirit of the lifetime efforts of Cox, Johnson, and Frazier, the committee invites nominations of individuals or institutions with a record of outstanding work, such as, but not limited to:

  • Work on social justice issues
  • Work on human rights
  • Activism, community efforts, the building of institutions, or sustaining programs
  • Emphasis on African-American or similarly disadvantaged racial/ethnic populations that have experienced historical racial discrimination

Occasionally, institutional commitment to social justice, to broadening the tradition to including and empowering marginalized scholars and marginalized peoples, is so compelling that this award can recognize a communal institutional effort.

Congratulations to Dr. Sáenz!

— Amanda Cerreto