Posted on January 21, 2018 by Jana Schwartz

University Excellence Awards Flyer

(Jan. 10, 2018) — It’s time to nominate your outstanding staff and faculty colleagues for recognition at the University Excellence Awards ceremony. Nominations will be accepted through Feb. 16 (with the exception of the Diversity Award; see details below).

“In the short time I’ve been at UTSA, I have met so many dedicated faculty and staff making tremendous contributions to this institution,” said UTSA President Taylor Eighmy. “I’m a strong proponent of cultivating and recognizing the excellence of our people, as they are at the heart of our efforts to achieve greatness as a university.”

Nominations will be accepted for the following awards:

  • Rising Star Award (staff nominations accepted; $1000 prize)
    The Rising Star Award recognizes a new employee who has made significant contributions to his or her area or to the university community.
  • Leadership Award (staff nominations accepted; $1000 prize)
    The Leadership Award recognizes a supervisor who promotes UTSA mission and goals through actions and job performance.
  • Team Spirit Award (staff nominations accepted; $1000 prize)
    The Team Spirit Award recognizes a group of staff employees who have demonstrated exceptional ability to foster collaboration, communication and cooperation among colleagues internal and/or external to their department.
  • Extra Mile Award (staff nominations accepted; $1000 prize)
    The Extra Mile Award recognizes an individual who has performed at a level beyond normal job requirements, which has furthered the department's and UTSA's goals and mission.
  • Order of the Roadrunner Award (staff nominations accepted; $1000 prize)
    The Order of the Roadrunner Award is the highest honor that a UTSA staff member can receive for his or her dedication to the UTSA community.
  • Richard S. Howe Excellence in Service to Undergraduate Students Award (faculty and staff nominations accepted; $2000 prize)
    The Richard S. Howe Excellence in Service to Undergraduate Students Award recognizes a faculty or staff member who has shown exemplary commitment towards UTSA undergraduates.
  • President's Distinguished Diversity Award (faculty, staff and student nominations accepted; $500 and $1000 prize)
    The President’s Distinguished Diversity Award bestows the highest level of recognition to an individual or group that encourages the entire UTSA community to think and practice diversity and inclusion in more creative and collaborative ways. NOTE: Nomination deadline is Jan. 30.

Award recipients will be recognized at the annual University Excellence Awards Ceremony on April 19, 2018 and be presented with a monetary prize and a trophy.

The ceremony will honor recipients of the University Excellence Awards and the President’s Distinguished Achievement Awards for faculty members. Additionally, UTSA employees who have reached milestones in their length of service with the university and the UT System as well as retirees from the previous calendar year will be recognized.

Supervisors are asked to provide a printed copy of the nomination forms to employees who do not have access to a UTSA personal computer.

KC Gonzalez

Learn more about each of the University Excellence Awards or submit a nomination.

Click here to see the story on UTSA Today.

— Jana Schwartz