Update: UTSA's ongoing monitoring of the Coronavirus outbreak
In Memoriam: Dr. Dorothy Flannagan, Professor Emeritus
In Memoriam: Dr. Dorothy Flannagan, Professor Emeritus

The Department of Psychology is sad to have lost a good friend and colleague. Professor Emeritus Dorothy Flannagan passed away on Wednesday, July 8, of complications related to cancer. An on-campus memorial service for her will be held at 4:00 p.m. on Friday, July 24th at the University Center in the Retama Auditorium (UC 2.02.02).  A scholarship fund to honor Dr. Flannagan has been established and donations can be sent to the address listed below. 

Dr. Flannagan earned her Ph.D. from North Carolina State University and joined the faculty in the Department of Psychology at The University of Texas at San Antonio in 1990. She was instrumental in developing the department’s Masters of Science Program (started in 1995) and the Doctor of Philosophy program (started in 2012).  She was a nationally-recognized researcher who published extensively on topics related to parent-child interactions, the dynamics of adolescent friendships, and the behavioral expectations underlying romantic relationships in emerging adults. She received external funding to support her research from the Spencer Foundation, the Hogg Foundation, and the Department of Health and Human Services. Dr. Flannagan was also an excellent classroom instructor and won the Dean’s Outstanding Teaching Award from the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences in 1993. Outside the classroom, she worked with an extraordinary number of graduate and undergraduate students on research projects, and it is a tribute to her dedication as a student mentor that Dr. Flannagan consistently ranked at the top of the department in the number of M.S. thesis projects competed under her supervision. Her M.S. graduates included Cilla Stultz, Christina Perez, Lorena Bradley, Lea Conkright, Justin Wise, Christina Hinojosa, Dianna Marsh, Cherisse Lezama, Rochelle Sherrill, Cynthia Tarrillion, Livia Manning, Jennifer Gnepper, Sandra Castanon, Michael Matamoros, Megan Chance, Mercedes Vaughn, Sarah Frias, Tiffany Berzins, and Janet Bennett. 

In addition to her contributions to the department, Dr. Flannagan made many important contributions to the college and university. She was appointed Associate Dean for Graduate Studies and Research in the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences in 1998 and as Associate Dean in the College of Liberal and Fine Arts in 2000. She assumed her role as Dean of The Graduate School in 2001 and was named Vice-Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies in 2009. Her administrative accomplishments were instrumental in moving UTSA closer toward its goal of becoming a research-intensive, Tier 1 institution. As Dean, Dr. Flannagan successfully supervised the development and implementation of 20 new PhD programs, 19 new Master’s programs, and 10 graduate certificate programs. At the state level, Dr. Flannagan served as president of the Association of Texas Graduate Schools and was a member of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board’s Graduate Education Advisory Committee, the U.T. System Enrollment Management Committee, the Council of Southern Graduate Schools/Awards Committee, and the Institute for Integration of Medicine and Science Governance Advisory Council. 

The Department of Psychology, The University of Texas at San Antonio, and the San Antonio community have lost a gifted leader, an exceptional teacher, a talented researcher, and a generous friend. Dr. Flannagan enriched the lives of countless students and was a constant source of encouragement and support for all her colleagues. She will be greatly missed.

Donations to honor Dr. Flannagan can be sent to:

The Dorothy Flannagan Scholarship Fund
c/o Office of External Affairs
The University of Texas at San Antonio
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, Texas 78249


Tributes to Dr. Flannagan