Demography scholar inducted into the Academy of Distinguished Researchers
Demography scholar inducted into the Academy of Distinguished Researchers

Dr. Joachim Singelmann, chair and professor in the department of demography was recently inducted into the UTSA Academy of Distinguished Researchers. As part of its continuing commitment to research excellence, the University of Texas at San Antonio announces the establishment of the Academy of Distinguished Researchers. The purpose of the Academy is to honor outstanding faculty who exemplify excellence in research; who foster exceptional research practices at UTSA; and who help create faculty advocates who can serve as resources for their colleagues.

Dr. Joachim Singelmann photo

Charter inductees of the Academy are as follows:

Sos Agaian, Peter T. Flawn Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Hamid Beladi, Professor and IBC Bank Senior Faculty Fellow, Department of Economics
Rena Bizios, Peter T. Flawn Professor and Director of the Cellular and Tissue Engineering Laboratory, Department of Biomedical Engineering
William Cooke, Professor and Chair, Department of Kinesiology, Health, and Nutrition
Christopher Ellison, Dean’s Distinguished Professor, Department of Sociology
Jeanne Reesman, Professor and Jack & Laura Richmond Endowed Faculty Fellow, Department of English
Ravi Sandhu, Professor and Lutcher Brown Distinguished Chair in Cyber Security and Executive Director of the Institute for Cyber Security, Department of Computer Science
Joachim Singelmann, Professor and Chair, Department of Demography
John Wald, Professor, Department of Finance
Charles Wilson, Professor, Ewing Halsell Distinguished Chair and Director of the Neurosciences Institute, Department of Biology
Miguel Jose-Yacaman, Lutcher Brown Distinguished Chair, Professor and Chair, Department of Physics and Astronomy

Charter members will be recognized at a luncheon ceremony on April 28.  For more information on the academy of distinguished researchers, click here.

Current Events